The secure message box allows services that you have enrolled with to send you messages securely, without any sensitive information being transmitted by email (which is not secure).
You may access your message box from any page within online services either from the link at the top right, which tells you how many 'current' secure message you have and how many are unread. Select the secure messages to view the current list of messages. You can also view the same list by selecting the 'Message Box' list in the menu on the left.
Once in the message box you may view any messages that have not yet been archived. You may switch to viewing archived messages by selecting the 'Archived Messages' link from the menu. You may also search archived messages by selecting the 'Search for Messages' link from the menu.
From here you can view the messages in your message box, sorted with the newest items first. Messages in bold have not yet been read by anyone in the account. Clicking the message subject will allow you to read the content of the message, marking the message as read.
When you have dealt with a secure message, you may archive it so that it no longer appears in your list of current messages. You may do this individually per message by viewing the message first, then selecting the Archive Message button.
Alternatively, you may archive several messages at once from the current message list. To do this, tick the boxes in the left hand column against the messages you wish to archive and click the 'Archive Selected Messages' button. Note that messages must be read before they can be archived.
You may also reinstate any messages that you have archived to return them to the current list. As with archiving, you may do this individually per message by viewing the message then selecting the Reinstate Message button.
You may also reinstate several messages at once from the archived message list, or the search results list. To do this, tick the boxes in the left hand column against the messages you wish to reinstate and click the 'Reinstate Selected Messages' button.